Knittings

Knitting is the word of late.

Knitting with my cats. If you look again at that picture, you’ll see Jet lurking in the background. Luckily he opted to not try to attack the yarn or needles while I was trying to photograph them. I know, I know,  cats and knitting are supposed to go together like white on rice, but as reality will attest, … cats will destroy knitting. I digress.

I bought a “teach yourself” knitting CD at hobby lobby a couple weeks ago. I already know how to knit and purl, and how to yarn over or K2Tog, etc. But I was hoping the cd might have more to say that I don’t know how to do, and that it would show me. Because it’s videos.
Well, it did.
It showed me how to knit stripes!! As in with 2 different colors of yarn!
Naturally, when you’ve just learnt how to knit in stripes, your first undertaking should be a scarf using the colors of your preferred House. And by House I mean Hogwarts House. Personally, I feel I’m a Gryffindor at heart.

Iiiiilove it.

The blue one is a scarf I started for Amanda last year and didn’t get around to finishing. I’m notorious in my own craftworld for starting things, but not yet known for finishing them. Not a lot, anyway. I do have two scarves to my name. I forgot to photograph those. I finished them last year. One of them has been gifted to my friend Megan (@megzlh154), but I keep forgetting to remind her to take it with her when she leaves my apt. One of these days. I HAVE almost finished this buddy:     

It’s a long, thin double rib knit scarf, made from this thick, fluffy Epais yarn from the Hobbs. I love love love this stuff. I bought a skein of Epais in a light/dark purpleish color that should be really pretty, too. This one just needs a liiittle more length.

In (what I consider to be) very exciting other news, I have visited a couple yarn shops the past month or so! One is Yarn Mart in the Heights, and the other is called Knit2Together, in Russellville. I’ve bought some fantastic yarns at both those places. I’ll photograph those another time to show all of you who stumble upon this blog. I’m not sure what to knit with them yet, is the problem. They’re too pretty and cozy to just ..make something haphazard. So I’m using my cheaper yarns to experiment with patterns to see which ones might suit the good yarns.

I’ll let you guys know when I finish these -especially the Gryffindor scarf. I’ve only got just over a month to finish!! Eeek. It’s too bad summer isn’t the kind of weather/time of year that inspires you to knit. Otherwise I’d have probably been all over this a long time ago.

In closing, here’s a picture of my cat sitting on Amanda’s scarf:

~ by marcydrake on October 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
