Currently:

Knitting. And yarn.

I’m currently way in love with yarn! The problem is, most of the yarn I’m in love with, I have yet to see in person. I’ve only seen these yarns online in people’s etsy shops. But I love them. I want to get my hands on them because they look like they feel amazing.

I’ve been looking at a lot of crafting blogs, and that’s been a lot of fun [can you say “winter break”? It’s been awesome]. One in particular that I like is Yarn Harlot’s site. She mostly talks about her adventures in knitting and spinning and dyeing yarn, and let me tell you, it sounds fun. It’s making me really look forward to the day that I finally marry rich [ha] and can spend my husband’s money on workshops, learning how to knit and dye yarn. Wow.

In the meantime, I’m knitting with Hobby Lobby yarns (which are nice, but they aren’t quite as friendly as these handspun fibres look), which are working for now, and finding patterns and other resources online and around my area.

In your meantime, you should just check out these beauties: TreasureAyland‘s yarn is beautiful!

This yarn is gorgeous, and all the other yarn in her shop looks just as wonderful. You can buy this yarn here.

This red and pale green yarn is actually the yarn of a woman who works around the Conway area; her yarn is also amazing. I feel like I’m overusing all these fantastical words like “amazing” “gorgeous” and “beautiful” .. .but that’s what these are! I don’t know how else to describe them. Might need to bust out the old thesaurus.. all that aside, though, :

Check this out. This lady is awesome. Check out her shop, The Twisted Purl. Good, good stuff.

..

..

..

..

..

..

Well, the past few weeks I’ve been knitting almost non-stop. I’m currently working on a scarf for my cousin for Secret Santa Christmas, and I hope to get it finished today..there are only a few mail days left before Christmas! :/ I need to get on that. But. When it’s done I’ll post a picture. I got the pattern from the Lion Brand yarn website, and it’s working really well. I’ve only messed up a few times, and if you’re not familiar with the knitting process, I don’t think you can tell… I think. But I used some cute (and cheap) yarn from WalMart that is self-patterning (see the Yarn Harlot’s post about self-patterning yarn…it’s a good one!), and it’s making the scarf look pretty awesome if I do say so myself.. and I do. And soon  you will too.

For now, I’m about to go knit with some little oldie knitters in a nursing home nearby. I’ll let you know how that goes. 🙂

~ by marcydrake on December 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
